Difference between revisions of "Charge"

From AmtWiki
(Clarification format)
(8.6.3 audit)
 
Line 1: Line 1:
{{rule|<onlyinclude>Some [[abilities]] may have their [[per-life]] or [[refresh|per-refresh]] uses restored after they are consumed. These abilities are denoted with the word “Charge” and a number after them. In order to gain an additional per-life or per-refresh use of a Charge ability the Charge [[Incantation]] must be repeated in full the number of times indicated by number after Charge. For instance an ability labeled ‘Charge x3’ requires three full repetitions of the Charge Incantation in order to regain a use.
+
{{rule|<onlyinclude>Some [[abilities]] may have their [[per-life]] or [[refresh|per-refresh]] uses restored after they are consumed. These abilities are denoted with the word “Charge” and a number after them. In order to gain an additional per-life or per-refresh use of a Chargeable ability the Charge [[Incantation]] must be repeated in full the number of times indicated by number after Charge. For instance an ability labeled ‘Charge x3’ requires three full repetitions of the Charge Incantation in order to regain a use.
# Once an ability has been Charged, it may then be held for later use in the same game. Once it is used you may then Charge it again for another use.
+
# Stating the name of an ability to Charge does not activate that ability.
# Stating the name of an ability to charge does not activate that ability.
 
# Any [[Incantation]] to activate a Charged ability is separate from the Charge Incantation.
 
 
# Charges for [[refresh|per-refresh]] [[abilities]] carry between lives; a per-refresh ability Charged on a previous life and not used can be used on the next life.
 
# Charges for [[refresh|per-refresh]] [[abilities]] carry between lives; a per-refresh ability Charged on a previous life and not used can be used on the next life.
 
# The ability being Charged must be designated at the beginning of the Charge.
 
# The ability being Charged must be designated at the beginning of the Charge.
Line 8: Line 6:
  
 
=====[[Charge Incantation]]=====
 
=====[[Charge Incantation]]=====
{{:Charge Incantation}}</onlyinclude>|{{CurrentRulebookNumber}}}}
+
The [[Incantation]] that is used to Charge an [[ability]]. A single ‘Charge Incantation’ is repeating the following phrase:
 +
<blockquote>
 +
Out of battle I pause to rest.<br>
 +
I take some time to catch my breath.<br>
 +
Return to me my fleeting power.<br>
 +
To aid me in my darkest hour.
 +
</blockquote>
 +
The Charge Incantation requires an empty hand and must be audible out to 20'.</onlyinclude>|{{CurrentRulebookNumber}}}}
  
 
{{Noticebox/Clarification|
 
{{Noticebox/Clarification|
 
* <nowiki>#1</nowiki> should not be taken to mean that a player is limited to only one charged instance of an ability at a time. Players may charge abilities, use them, and then charge them again, but you may restore all uses of an ability that you have consumed. (Up to your maximum number of uses.) [https://docs.google.com/document/d/1F0tiuX1cNTBqj4Y3SbRlpsXhASB25I8x6w9RJ7La7VE]}}
 
* <nowiki>#1</nowiki> should not be taken to mean that a player is limited to only one charged instance of an ability at a time. Players may charge abilities, use them, and then charge them again, but you may restore all uses of an ability that you have consumed. (Up to your maximum number of uses.) [https://docs.google.com/document/d/1F0tiuX1cNTBqj4Y3SbRlpsXhASB25I8x6w9RJ7La7VE]}}
  
 
+
{{Magic and Ability Mechanics Defined}}
{{V8 Rules Sections}}
 
[[Category: V8 Rules Sections]]
 
[[Category:Rulebook Terms]]
 
[[Category:V8 Magic Rules]]
 
[[Category:Magic Rules]]
 

Latest revision as of 20:57, 19 March 2025

Some abilities may have their per-life or per-refresh uses restored after they are consumed. These abilities are denoted with the word “Charge” and a number after them. In order to gain an additional per-life or per-refresh use of a Chargeable ability the Charge Incantation must be repeated in full the number of times indicated by number after Charge. For instance an ability labeled ‘Charge x3’ requires three full repetitions of the Charge Incantation in order to regain a use.
  1. Stating the name of an ability to Charge does not activate that ability.
  2. Charges for per-refresh abilities carry between lives; a per-refresh ability Charged on a previous life and not used can be used on the next life.
  3. The ability being Charged must be designated at the beginning of the Charge.
  4. Only abilities which may be Charged can benefit from Innate, Steal Life Essence, etc.
Charge Incantation

The Incantation that is used to Charge an ability. A single ‘Charge Incantation’ is repeating the following phrase:

Out of battle I pause to rest.
I take some time to catch my breath.
Return to me my fleeting power.
To aid me in my darkest hour.

The Charge Incantation requires an empty hand and must be audible out to 20'.
SwordsIcon.png
Official Clarification
The following is an Official Clarification by the Kingdom Rules Representatives and should be considered a part of the Rules of Play, even though it may not be in he current rulebook. For a listing of official clarifications, visit the Amtgard Documents page.
  • #1 should not be taken to mean that a player is limited to only one charged instance of an ability at a time. Players may charge abilities, use them, and then charge them again, but you may restore all uses of an ability that you have consumed. (Up to your maximum number of uses.) [1]
Magic and Ability Mechanics Defined
Ability · Ability Order · Archetype · Chant · Charge · Enchantments · Engulfing · Incantation · Magic Armor · Magic Balls · Meta-Magic · Range · Resistant · School · Specialty Arrows · Traits · Trigger · Verbal
Magic, Abilities, States and Special Effects
Magic and Ability Mechanics Defined · States Defined · Special Effects Defined
V8 Rulebook
Introduction · V8 Made Easy · Organization · Role-playing · Combat Rules · Armor · Weapons · Weapon Types, Shields, and Equipment · Equipment Checking · Battlegames · Magic, Abilities, States and Special Effects · Classes · Magic and Abilities · Magic Items · Rules Revision Process · Award Standards · Kingdom Boundaries & Park Sponsorship · Annexure